Student Council created for Carrollton Elementary

Student Council created for Carrollton Elementary

A Student Council for students in grades 3-5 has been created under the supervision of Chris Barto, Dean of Students, at Carrollton elementary school.

“Students who were interested in a position as a class representative created a speech outlining their qualities and the ideas they had for our school,” Barto said. After the campaign was over each homeroom then voted on a representative, “ he added.

Finally, the elected representatives met as a Student Council and voted for president, vice president, secretary, treasurer and parliamentarian.

Four of the five new officers are shown with Barto, seated far left. Seated are Kaitlyn Adey, treasurer, and Anna Sophie Leonard, president. Standing behind are Stone Turkovich (left), parliamentarian, and Nadia Grimes, secretary. Jolana Burgett, the vice president, was absent when the photo was taken.

Barto said the Student Council plans on working closely with staff, administration and the Carrollton Elementary Parent Teacher Organization to provide a positive experience for all CES students.