Claymont Foundation announces Alumni Award winners

Claymont Foundation announces Alumni Award winners

Image Credit: FIle

The Claymont Foundation has announced the 2020-21 Alumni Award winners.

Cecelia Krocker, Class of ‘66, has been awarded the 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award. The Distinguished Alumnus Award is given to a person who has dedicated his or her life or career to the service of humanity.

In 1992 Krocker began to volunteer for Community Hospice as a member of the fundraising committee. In 1994 she began helping at the annual rigatoni dinner and in 1995 became the chair of the committee, making the meatballs for the event. She served as committee chair for 25 years. She also chaired the annual garage sale from 1994 until it ended; she ran the lunch stand. Krocker has served as chair of Culinary Capers since its inception in 2005.

Krocker was named the 2018 Lucille Nussdorfer Tuscarawas County Woman of the Year for her service with Hospice.

Teri Edwards, Class of ’86, has been awarded the 2020-21 Citizen of the Year Award. The Citizen of the Year Award is granted to an individual who has been active in community education and awareness.

She is the executive director of the Twin City Chamber of Commerce. She is a former member of Dennison Village Council and served as the village’s first female mayor.

Edwards currently serves as an advisory committee member for Dreamsville USA, Clay Capital Heritage Center and Friends of the Twin Cities Parks Trails and Waterways. She also serves as an ex-officio member of the Tuscarawas County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. She is a member of the Clayland Lions Club.

Edwards is a former member and president of the Dennison Rotary Club. She was a previous member of the Tuscarawas County YMCA Board of Directors, Tuscarawas County CIC, Tuscarawas Oil & Gas Advisory Committee, Village of Dennison Zoning Code Committee, and Village of Dennison assistant zoning administrator.

Matt Carrothers, Class of ’94, has been awarded with the 2020-21 Alumnus Achievement Award. The Alumnus Achievement Award is given to a person whose contributions have made an impact on society and the community.

Carrothers volunteers at the Denver Rescue Mission and is an avid cyclist, runner, skier and traveler. He and his wife, Andrea, reside in Denver and have one son, Theo, 3, and a Labrador Retriever, Remy.

Robert (Bob) Hasseman, Class of ’70, has been named the 2020 Alumnus of the Year. The Alumnus of the Year award is granted to an individual who has demonstrated life-time leadership and abilities in his or her chosen field.

Hasseman has been active with Indiana State Football Coaches Association, Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association, IHSAA Wrestling Official, USA Officials Association, National Strength and Conditioning Association, National Education Association, Indiana Teachers Association, and Franklin Teachers Association. He is still a member of the First Moravian Church in Uhrichsville.

His honors and records throughout the years include career dual meet record, 686-246-6; 26 sectional championships; 14 regional championships; eight semi-state championships; 10 dual meet state qualifications; two-time state dual meet team runner-up; IHSWCA Dual Meet state champion in 2014; IHSAA Individual State Tournament runner-up in 2014; University of Findlay Alumni Wrestling Coach of the Year 1977-78, 1978-79 and 1979-80; 16 Mid-State Conference Wrestling Coach of the Year;

Indiana State Wrestling Association, John Hurrle Award 2004: Outstanding Contribution to The Sport of Wrestling; Indiana State Wrestling Association: Freestyle and Greco Roman Official of the Year 2017; Indiana State Wrestling Association: Folkstyle Official of the Year 2018; Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame, inducted in 2007; and Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association and Don Patton Award: Indiana Wrestling Coach of the Year 2014.

“We are excited to be able to recognize these award winners who were notified in March of 2020 of this honor,” said Beth DiDonato, Claymont Foundation president. “With the pandemic we were forced to postpone this announcement.”

The award winners were recognized at an open house at Claymont Elementary School in early September.

In addition to the Alumni Award winners, the foundation also recognized the 2021 Teacher of the Year winner, Elizabeth Barrow. Barrow’s award was officially announced earlier this year.

The Claymont Foundation, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, was established to enhance and encourage the educational excellence of the Claymont City Schools.